Skip to content

Into the belly of the beast

March 31, 2010

This morning I finally subscribed to the user and style guidelines mailing lists (one digest a day, of course). I’m looking forward to seeing just how active the lists are and what kinds of discussions happen on a day-to-day basis. I’ve looked at the archives but I think participating in the present will help me better understand the conversations.

I still have not transcribed my Robert Kaye interview, but it’s going to be done by the end of next week, I swear. Once finished I’m going to write up a new history page for the site and figure out how I go about getting people to accept it. I think I’ll also fix up the Wikipedia page for MB because, well, it could use a little love.

In other news, I’ve made progress on the survey. I’m still waiting for approval of my second draft as well as eProtocol submission, but one of our awesome IT guys, Gary, walked me through the commands to install open-source survey app LimeSurvey on my Berkeley server so I can go ahead and begin building the survey there. I chose an open-source app like this for two reasons: the obvious one, that I’m working in an open source project so should probably use as many open-source tools as possible (hence also why I chose WordPress for my blog); and two, it seems like it’s more powerful than other options and I want to learn something new. So between my WordPress blog, LimeSurvey, LyricWiki, Wikipedia, and MusicBrainz, I’m working in/with five different open source projects/tools for this class. I didn’t intend for it to work out like this but I really think it’s pretty awesome that open source has come so far that I even can do this. I will not, however, go as far as using OpenOffice because it frankly just sucks. Sorry, Sun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

