Skip to content

I just lost over an hour of my life…

March 1, 2010

…to one of my favorite bands. It was a good cause, really. It’s not just about manual data entry, which is how it seems when you say, “I’m working on a peer-produced music database.” There’s some research involved in this, and it can’t always be solved with a single Google query. In order to dig into the really detailed stuff (e.g., guest performers on an album) and you don’t have the album in front of you, it can take a combination of Wikipedia pages, online music stores, AllMusic, and Pitchfork to make sure I’m 100% correct about some things. This is why so many eyes look at this data. But Silver Jews fans can rest assured, I only linked Malkmus to the albums I’m certain he played on.

I may have to raid my friend’s CD collection so I can enter all the correct songwriting credits.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

