Skip to content

Disenfranchisement?

February 15, 2010
tags:

I still can’t vote on MusicBrainz edits. This is confusing; I earned the 10 non-auto-edit YES votes required. Observe:

My edit stats, 2/15/10

Maybe it’s because of some serious confusion yesterday trying to edit the info for an Ann Peebles reissue. I accidentally entered two release events and instead of canceling a single edit (I forgot that it’s something you can do) I tried to remove the release event, which creates another edit. Another editor saw what I did and took pity I think, telling me which one(s) to cancel. I did, but apparently not fast enough, because I quickly earned the 3 NO votes required to fail an edit. But I’m not sure why this affects my ability to vote on other edits. Perhaps it’s time to visit the forums…

Update: I thought I’d found the answer in the forums, thinking I had to wait until the voted-on edits go through and that the 10 “accepted” are outstanding or something, but that’s wrong. I have 10 accepted non-auto edits, I should be able to vote!

My current convicted-felon-in-Kentucky status aside, the forum post linked above and voiceinsideyou‘s response to it is a nice discussion of policies and community attitudes regarding n00bs. I’ve made several mistakes in trying to learn the system, so the voting policy makes absolute sense to me, even though it’s a bummer that I can’t vote yet. As I said in another post, the learning curve is steep, so these kinds of control mechanisms help protect the integrity of the data while giving n00bs an opportunity to figure things out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nikki permalink
    February 16, 2010 11:10 am

    I checked the code and by “at least 10”, it actually meant 11 or more, not 10 or more so I updated the FAQ to be more precise. You’ve gone well past 10 accepted edits though, so you should definitely be able to vote now. 🙂

    • February 16, 2010 6:06 pm

      Ah ha! At least 10 to me means 10 or more, so thank you for clarifying! Hurray!

Leave a Reply

